I Spoke To Brandon!

I doubt many of you are still reading, but I thought for the sake of completeness, I ought to write this – likely final – post.

Sadly, I never heard back from Brandon Stanton after we wrapped up the campaign and I emailed the pictures/video. I guess HONY chose to keep their distance for their reasons, and I respect that. But, today Brandon was doing a book signing in downtown Brooklyn, and I decided to swing by.

We spoke briefly, but he immediately recognized and acknowledged the campaign, asked how it worked out, and congratulated us. In retrospect, I wish I had the guts to offer to buy him a cup of coffee and tell him all about it. But, I’m very happy with what we’ve got. We made  a difference, and that’s what counts.

"We're always very cautious when somebody starts a fundraiser through a HONY photo, but it's nice to know that sometimes they work out."

“We’re always very cautious when somebody starts a fundraiser through a HONY photo, but it’s nice to know that sometimes they work out.”

One thought on “I Spoke To Brandon!

  1. i hoped he would respond sometime just for the sake that he started
    it with that picture though.but anyways i am
    happy that this happenend,that malcolm got his pipes and you did what you did.the world needs
    more people like you maxim.did you still have contact to malcom? i hope he is doing good and enjoys the pipes.thank you for everything you did 🙂

Leave a comment